School Site Council (SSC)

We have one decision-making council at Ivanhoe Elementary, the School Site Council (SSC).

The SSC is responsible for developing, approving and annually revising the Single Plan for Student Achievement (SPSA). The Council oversees the site-based budgeting of categorical funds (State and Federal monies).

The Council is comprised of 5 school employees and 5 parents that are elected to the council. Specific tasks of the SSC are to: review and analyze student data, approve the annual school site budget, monitor the implementation and effectiveness of the academic plan on an ongoing basis. The SSC is also responsible for allocating the funds that Friends of Ivanhoe (FOI) raises throughout the year.

The Council terms last two years and they are staggered. Last year the terms were split between one and two years so that there would be continuity on the Council. Meetings are held the third Thursday of each month and they are open to the public.


SSC members include:

From the faculty -

        Lynda Rescia, Missy Morris, Carlos Santiesteban, Mary Frances Smith-Reynolds,
        and Principal Lynda Rescia.

From the parent body -

        Renee Navid, Moe Navid, Joe Mellis, Alison Shore, Bev Kite, and Duncan Sobel

English Learner Advisory Council (ELAC)

Each school in LAUSD establishes an elected English Learner Advisory Committee (ELAC). 

The responsibilities of the ELAC include:

        Advising the School Site Council (SSC) on the development of the Single Plan for Student

        Achievement (SPSA), especially those sections related to English learner

        Assisting in the development of the school’s Needs assessment, Language census

        Making efforts to make parents aware of the importance of regular school attendance

        Advising the principal and staff on the school’s program for English learners

        Assisting the LDELAC in the dissemination of information and materials related to

        all aspects of the Master Plan for English Learners

        Advising in the development of and approval of the school’s Title III

        and Economic Impact Aid-Limited English Proficient (EIA-LEP) budgets

There are 9 members on the council made up of teachers, staff and parents. Meeting dates/times are determined by the new council members. All languages are welcome.

K I Mr. Velazquez


K I Ms. Whitten
1 I Mr. Bartoletti
1 I Ms. Chough
1 I Ms. Sekiguchi
2 I Ms. Puentes
2 I Ms. Safford
2 I Ms. Smith-Reynolds
3 I Ms. Demirdjian
3 I Ms. Oricoli
3 I Ms. Ortiz
4 I Ms. Flynn
4 I Ms. Hoene
5 I Mr. Santiesteban
2 I Ms. Chan
Ms. Rescia
Mr. Bird
5 I Ms. Zamora
K I Ms. Morris
Mr. Aleman

Alexander Aleman, Webwizard -

Join the Ivanhoe mailing list!  Click below!